UGH!

Today, I spent the hours between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. sitting in the basement of the county courthouse, actually hoping my name would be called as part of the jury pool so that at least I could do something besides sit.  It’s the first time I’ve been called for jury duty since we moved to Suburbia, and my commute downtown this morning reminded me of why I am so glad I no longer have to make such a commute.  I’ll stick to my nice ten-minute drive to work any day!

I really don’t mind fullfilling my civic obligations by serving on jury duty.  I just wish it didn’t come with such a mind-numbing process.  Since I wasn’t called today, I have to return tomorrow to go through the same thing.  If I’m not called tomorrow, I’ll have to go back again on Wednesday, but if I’m not chosen then, I should be dismissed.  With my luck, I’ll be chosen on Wednesday and have to sit on a case that lasts several days!

And did I mention we had a Board of Education meeting tonight?  That lasted five hours?  Oh, yes.  So after sitting for 7 hours during the day, I got to sit for another five tonight.  But this time, it involved answering a lot of detailed questions about student and staff handbooks. 

Fun times, I tell you.  Fun times.

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Work

2 responses to “UGH!

  1. Rachel

    Our board meeting last week didn’t last five hours, but it did leave a number of board members hardly on speaking terms.

    We nearly made it through $1.5million in budget cuts without imploding, but not quite…

    Fences are mostly mended, I think. I suspect the credibility damage will take longer to repair.

  2. Pingback: We Just Got A Letter « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

