Another Year

Last year around this time, I wrote of the poppies blooming at Soccer Boy’s school.  Each year, the 4th graders plant a poppy field to honor our country’s veterans.  And, last year, I expressed my hope that the current conflict would be over by the time the poppies bloomed again.

Of course, it’s not.  The poppies waving in the spring breeze remind me daily, not just on this Memorial Day, of the men and women who sacrificed their lives for our country.  Who are sacrificing right now, serving on foreign fields so far from home.  So many young men from All-American High have done tours in Afghanistan or Iraq.  Two I know well are there right now.  I saw one of their mothers recently.  As the mother of a West Pointer, she knew this was a likely eventuality, but I can’t even imagine sending my boy off to war.  I told her I was praying for him and for their family.  She said they could use all the prayers they could get.

The symbolism of the poppy comes from a poem by John McCrae, written in World War I.

In Flanders Fields

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

This year, my hope is that we will not break faith with those who have died in Iraq and Afghanistan.  They are heroes who deserve our appreciation for their willingness to serve and die.  And my even greater hope, is that come this time next year, we’ll have a clear plan in place for ending this war so that no more young men and women are sacrificed.

3 Comments

Filed under Life in General

3 responses to “Another Year

  1. That poem brought tears to my eyes. God bless them all.

Leave a Reply

