Only Eleven Years To Go

“Mom,” shrieked Gym Girl, “DON’T DO THAT!”

Evidently I do something weird with my mouth when I dance.  Even if that dancing happens while I’m seated behind the wheel.  And, of course, someone is likely to see that particular move, from 50 yards away across the darkened parking lot.  Yes, some of you who read this blog previously may not have figured out just what an embarrassment I am.  In fact, I myself have only recently realized the degree to which my day-to-day actions cause distress for my children.

And, in case you’re wondering, I am also NOT FUNNY.  I am especially NOT FUNNY when the girls’ friends are around.  But somehow, Adventure Guy is still “sorta cool in a weird way” according to Dancer Girl.  How is this possible?  This is the guy who has his own rendition of the Pussy Cat Doll’s “Don’t Cha” song which goes something like “Don’t cha wish your Daddy was hot like me.”  Which he continually threatens to sing, complete with his own unique dance moves, when the kids have friends over. 

I have hope, though.  I clearly remember going grocery shopping with my mother when I was home from college one summer.  As she stepped up on the lowest shelf so she could reach a package of toilet paper on the top shelf, she stopped for a second and said, “Oh, I’m sorry!”  I must have had a strange look on my face because she continued, “I didn’t mean to embarrass you.”  Totally confused, I asked her what she meant, and she shared that she knew my then teenage brother and sister would have been horrified if she’d done that when the were with her.  She told me she knew I must really not be a teenager any more if I’d moved past the “embarrassed by every little thing” stage.

So, the good news is that eventually this too shall pass.  The bad news?  It’ll probably be another eleven years or so before I can safely dance while driving!

3 Comments

Filed under Kids

3 responses to “Only Eleven Years To Go

  1. oldbluesocks

    Too funny! I feel it coming on at our house too.

  2. Uh oh! I think I was spared this with Music Man. So far things are OK with Sportsboy too. Not that I am counting on that to remain true!

    “Don’t cha wish your Daddy was hot like me?” Oh no. Now *I* am embarrassed for you kids!!

  3. Darci

    Bethany had her new “friend who is a boy” here the other night and Duane and I both horrified her by showing him how well we both do at Dance, Dance, Revolution. He (“the boy”) thought it was great fun but Bethany wasn’t so amused- at least externally. I believe inside she was extremely proud of how “cool” her parents are! Yeah, right.

Leave a Reply

