Almost Home

It’s official.  I miss Adventure Guy and the kids; I would jet off to home right now if it wouldn’t cost me an extra $400 or so to change my return flight.  Fortunately, I’ll be tucked away safely in my very own bed by tomorrow night.

In the meantime, I finally got out tonight to enjoy a bit of Washington, D. C.  My second presentation this afternoon got good feedback, and it’s a nice feeling to be through!  Tomorrow, I’ll be completely on the listening end of things rather than doing any presenting.  After this afternoon’s session, I had the chance to attend the speakers’ reception and visit with some old friends as well as meet several new people.  It was fun, and there were free drinks.

We followed up the reception by wandering around the neighborhood near the hotel.  It’s a great spot, and, though the first restaurant we planned on was packed, we lucked into L’Enfant Cafe.  We sat on the patio and soaked in the local Thursday night scene, which I must say differed a bit from the Suburban Thursday night scene–the one that involves my sitting on my bed watching Grey’s Anatomy.  Do these people not know there was a brand new episode tonight?

But I digress.  At L’Enfant Cafe, I managed to continue “the week of indulgent eating” I have going here and had Le Croque Monsieur, which was fabulous.  It came with salad, so I think that makes it healthy.  Right?  It did however make me so full that I had to pass on the dessert crepes, in particular the chocolate and Nutella one.  A decision I expect to live to regret.  Hmmm…maybe I have some lunch plans for tomorrow!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General, Work

One response to “Almost Home

  1. I think you should treat yourself, you deserve it with all the hard work you’ve done.

Leave a Reply

