Windows

Here in Suburbia, I’ve been needing a little inspiration.  I’m frazzled–too busy at work and at home.  My time to write this afternoon even comes as a result of Dancer Girl being sick and needing to go to the doctor–the doctor that only had an appointment an hour and a half after Gym Girl’s scheduled dentist appointment.  No time to get everyone home, go back to work, and pick Dancer Girl up again.  I’ll end up back in the office tonight instead. 

But, I digress.  In this time at home, I took a few minutes to check my Google Reader, and found a great series of posts on the windows to our souls, just the inspiration I needed.  It made me think about times when I’ve managed to feel truly peaceful, the opposite of how I’m feeling right now.

1.  Sitting in the guest bedroom of my aunt’s home and staring out at the huge pine trees when I was around thirteen.  In the summers when I was growing up, my mother and her sister took turns hosting visits for the other’s children.  We loved this time with our cousins, and I’m sure our mothers enjoyed a week off.  My aunt had a beautiful yard, and I can remember sitting in my room, looking out the window, and writing letters to my friends.  The peacefulness came from being away from all that is middle school–the cliques, the cattiness. 

2.  Driving with Adventure Guy my junior year of college.  It was cold and dark outside.  The heat blasted us with warmth inside and Tracy Chapman sang Fast Car

I remember when we were driving driving in your car
The speed so fast I felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arm felt nice wrapped ’round my shoulder
And I had a feeling that I belonged
I had a feeling that I could be someone, be someone, be someone

And I knew then that the someone I would be was Adventure Guy’s wife.  That we’d make a life together, belong to one another. 

3.  Lying on a beach in Grenada.  The white sand, the warm sun, and a little swell above my bikini bottom that in about seven months’ time would become Gym Girl.  It’s one of those moments I felt everything was going well with my life, that I was just where I wanted to be.  And I remember thinking then that I should remember that feeling.  I’m glad I did.

4.  At the lake in Missouri when the fog rolls in at night.  We go each year right before it’s time to pick up the kids from camp.  Those quiet nights with their mysterious feel reflect perfectly the odd mix of emotion that is anticipation of seeing my children and a bit of sadness that our yearly “honeymoon” is coming to an end. 

5. Those moments when I glimpse the women my girls will be. It happens more and more often now. But I love the memories of them as little girls, and particularly the memory of this moment captured in San Juan a few years ago. Maybe, it’s their future they’re looking at too.

There are no “rules” for the “Windows of My Soul” writing prompt.  If you choose to join in, be sure to send your link to Jessica at  Oh, The Joys.  Here are the ones so far.

Jen with Seven Windows of My Soul

Jessica with Eleven Windows

Tracy from Tiny Mantras

Defiant Muse from Musings…

LSM with Windows

Ms. Prufrock with Seven Windows of my Soul 

Karen with Eight Windows

Seven Views at Faking It

KT with My Hello Goodbye Window

Windows…from Kaliroz

6 Comments

Filed under Balance, Life in General

6 responses to “Windows

  1. Beautiful! I love the fog photo — and the ones of your girls looking out (at their future?) is breathtaking.

  2. I love yours, too. So very evocative. I’ll be coming back to read many more of your words.

  3. Pingback: Windows « Ivy Brown’s Stoop

  4. Darci

    Without much thought, the first thing that comes to mind for me is….

    Lying on my bed for a nap on a hot summer day with the fan swirling overhead and the faint sound of someone mowing their lawn in the background. Strange, huh?

    And lying in a hammock at my family’s cottage in July reflecting on all that’s transpired since I was there the last year.

    (There’s a theme of lying around for me I guess!) :+)

  5. Pingback: Windows of distraction

Leave a Reply

