Really, It’s Only Wednesday?

The weather reflects the rest of my world right now–full of ominous skies broken up by the occasional hail storm.  It’s been one of those weeks.  And readers may note, the week is not quite half over. I’ve had a convergence of family, work, and community commitments this week that have led to my feeling more than a bit overwhelmed. 

And, really, I am trying to look on the bright side.  Two of the reasons I’m feeling overwhelmed at work have to do with wonderful opportunities.  I’ve been accepted into a program that should lead to some incredible professional development as well as networking opportunities–but it requires a large amount of preparation between now and the middle of May.  At the same time, All-American Public Schools is going for a big grant that has the potential of making a huge difference for students. But in an interesting twist, the federal government announced the grant funding this month and also set a deadline for applications for April 30.  That’s an unusually tight turnaround time, but we’re going for it!  Fortunately, we had been watching for the funding announcement and have much of the groundwork done.  But it’s still a major undertaking to get the application written and filed on time. 

At home, the kids activities hit full swing this time of year.  Soccer and gymnastics seasons are at their peak, and Odyssey of the Mind also enters crunch time for competition.  Then add in the end of the year school activities and preparation for all the kids going to camp in a month and a half, and I have plenty to do on the home front. 

I’m also gearing up with my new position for the Junior League Board.  I’ve already attended several meetings at the mayor’s office so that I can transition into the role the current Community Program VP filled.  There are some exciting plans for a local Cradle to Prison Pipeline Initiative summit, and we’ll be partnering with the city on that.  And, of course, I have my current committee chair responsibilities going on as well.  Our last big project happens this month. 

With all of that going on, it would be understandable if I had a bit of trouble sleeping at night.  Except that one of my personal strengths is that I’m an excellent sleeper.  Maybe I should list that on my resume!  But, this explains part of my mood.  Because I am getting far too little sleep this week.  It all started Monday night, or actually Tuesday morning, with the huge hail storm that moved through in waves all night long.  3:30 a.m. found Adventure Guy and me standing in the living room watching both the news for tornado alerts and the golf ball-size hail raining down in our backyard.  I didn’t get to sleep until about an hour before the alarm went off.  That’s been followed by another early morning today when I had a gym appointment at 6:00 a.m.  The trend continues tomorrow when I’m scheduled to get up at an entirely unreasonable hour to try again on the breast MRI.

And, as I type, storms are rolling in again. So, think restful thoughts for me tonight.  I have a feeling I’m going to need them!

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General, Work

One response to “Really, It’s Only Wednesday?

  1. Sleepy fairy dust on the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

