Adventure Guy and LSM’s Day Off

I almost feel guilty about what a nice day it’s been.  And I have crappy weather to thank for it!

Adventure Guy and I went out to dinner last night with his mom and step-dad.  Adventure Guy’s step-brother and his wife joined us as well.  We had a fun evening and got in at a reasonable time, which was nice when the alarm went off at 8:30 this morning.

Soccer Boy had a 9:30 a.m. game today, and since Adventure Guy coaches, we have to be at the fields early.  Have I mentioned that neither of us is a morning person?  We think that fact has greatly contributed to our marriage lasting as long as it has.  If one of us was happy in the morning, the other might just be provoked to violence.  And, we’ve finally gotten to the point in child rearing where no one in the house voluntarily gets up before 10:00 a.m.  It’s a beautiful thing.

But, the soccer game qualified as a reason for involuntary early rising.  We braved the cold, misty weather to head to the fields, where Soccer Boy’s team promptly stomped the competition, remaining undefeated for the season.  By the end of the game, around 10:45 a.m., we had finished our only real commitment of the day.

Which is amazing for us!  We usually have multiple events going on at any one time on the weekends.  After the game, all we had to do was get Dancer Girl to Odyssey of the Mind practice this afternoon.  Because of our light schedule, we allowed Soccer Boy to invite a friend over to play after the game.  They entertained each other for hours–like the sleeping in thing, eventually play dates get to be less work for parents!

Gym Girl spent all day with a friend of hers–first at our gym’s optional level state meet (as a spectator) and then at the college conference gymnastics meet.  She called a bit ago to tell me they were on their way home and seemed really excited about how cool the college meet was.  I can only hope this may influence her decision about remaining on the team.  We’ll see.

Adventure Guy had a day  ‘o yard work planned for us today.  We’ve got lots of spring cleanup to do, and I would have been involved at least in getting the flower beds ready for planting.  The rain put those plans to rest, and we were forced to spend the day lazing around instead.  I caught up on my blog reading and on all the stuff I had recorded on the DVR.  I even did some online shopping and ordered myself some birthday gifts to make up for not receiving one from a certain relative who shall remain unnamed here (but to protect the innocent, it was not Adventure Guy!). While I spent the afternoon on the computer in the company of one snuggly dachshund, he had an equally relaxing day, watching some movies and sleeping on the couch.  Perfect for a rainy afternoon!

By the time Adventure Guy dropped Frank’s friend off at home and picked up Dancer Girl, we’d decided to actually go out tonight on our own.  We ordered pizza for the kids and headed out to see 21–the movie about the MIT kids who took Vegas for a ton of money by counting cards at blackjack.  I loved it.  The plot moved well, and it was a great date movie–romance, suspense, humor, this movie had it all.  We got one of those surveys to fill out, and I said I’d recommend the movie to my friends, so now I’ve held up my end of the bargain.

After the movie, we went to one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants for drinks and cheese fries.  Somehow right now I can’t think of a much better end to an evening than good conversation with my husband accompanied by alcohol and greasy food.  Ladies, it just doesn’t get much better than that!

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Marriage

2 responses to “Adventure Guy and LSM’s Day Off

  1. Samantha

    You bet it doesn’t – I would die for a night out like that!!

  2. Pingback: We’re Number Two! « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

