On The Shallow Side

Adventure Guy likes films.  Note I said films and not movies.  A few years ago I bought him a Netflix subscription since we don’t always get all the films he’d like to see in our local theater.  He graciously allows me one choice out of the three movies he’s allowed out at any one time.

So today, both of us received a new selection in the mail.  Here’s his description:

Man with the Movie Camera:  Cinema pioneer Dziga Vertov’s controversial 1929 film still pulses with energy, innovation and genius.  This landmark silent masterpiece from the Soviet avant-garde director stylishly highlights the buzz of everyday city life (shops, traffic, children, coal miners, nature) as seen through the eyes of a roving cameraman.  Many filmic devices are used to comment on vision, life, Marxism, and modernity in the Soviet Union.

And my selection?  Well, it could have been worse since I’ve been reliving my high school years a bit by renting a number of 80s movies lately.  However, this time it was Season 1, Disc 1 of The Tudors from Showtime.  We don’t subscribe to Showtime, so I’m biding my time until the most recent season of Weeds comes out on DVD in June. And I figure I couldn’t spend that time any better than by watching Jonathan Rhys-Meyers as Henry VIII in his prime.  I’ve had a thing for Rhys-Meyers since Bend It Like Beckham.

And as for “life, Marxism and modernity in the Soviet Union”? Call me shallow, but I’ll be leaving that to Adventure Guy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

