LSM’s Afternoon Off

I thought I’d title this post in honor of my one correct answer in any of my blog friends’ movie quizzes. Remembering movie lines is not one of my greatest strengths, but I’m okay with that. 

And what I’m even more okay with is the fact that I am taking this afternoon off (cue The Go-Gos Vacation).  I’m just getting used to this whole vacation concept, actually.  Every job I’ve worked prior to this one has been on a school calendar, so I got the usual school holidays.  That’s nice, but it’s certainly not flexible.  Now that I work on a twelve-month contract, I have regular vacation days to take at will.  It feels a bit decadent!

My parents and grandmother are coming to visit this weekend, and while I’m really looking forward to that, I haven’t had the time I’d have liked to get ready for their visit.  The house will be cleaned today, so that’s not a problem, but I need to do some general straightening up around the place and make it to the grocery store so that we’ll have food and drink for the weekend.  I also have a few other exciting errands to run like going to buy dog food.  I know, it’s an exciting life, but someone has to live it.

What is exciting about my afternoon, though, is that I’m going to start it by meeting Adventure Guy for lunch.  He was out of town for work earlier in the week and is leaving today to go to California.  He’s running the L. A. marathon on Sunday.  We’re looking forward to having a little time to actually speak to each other for more than just a passing sentence or two before he leaves! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

