Free Wireless Rocks

Did you know that it’s REALLY dark at 4:30 in the morning?  Or, that it’s REALLY cold in Denver in February?  I’ve had both of these little tidbits of knowledge confirmed for me already today, and it’s not even noon Mountain time.

I have a business meeting that starts today at 2:00 p.m. and ends tomorrow around 3:00 p.m. in Greeley, Colorado.  I didn’t want to be away from home for two nights, but the only flight that I could count on to get me here on time was the 6:40 a.m. flight to Denver.  I decided it was worth the pain of getting up early to not have to fly out yesterday afternoon and then drive in the dark to get here.  I was thankful I’d allowed plenty of time at the airport, though, because evidently the security levels are heightened, and it took me longer than usual to get through security.

Note to fellow travellers in line with me at the security holding pen: 

  • Traveller A:  Standing off to the side of me and two inches away will not get you any farther ahead in the line.  It will just make me uncomfortable.  There’s such a thing as “personal space.”  Learn about it.
  • Traveller B:  It’s cold outside.  The neckline of that dress is neither appropriate for the weather or for standing in an airport before six o’clock in the morning.  And, yes, like your boyfriend told you, they are going to make you take your coat off to go through security.  If you wanted to “blend in so they won’t notice” you should have selected a different dress.  I also hear they make camisoles, an option you might want to consider next time.

Once I made it through security the rest of my trip was extremely smooth.  The flight was on time and not crowded.  My seatmate was pleasant but didn’t try to talk to me once I started reading.  My bag was revolving on the carousel as I approached the baggage claim area.  The rental car agent was polite and helpful, and I got a discount on an upgrade to a car with 4 wheel drive for half price with my Sam’s card.  The predicted snow came down softly and didn’t cause much of an issue on the roads, and I found a nice local restaurant for breakfast.  My room, with the requested early check-in was ready when I arrived.  And, my favorite, they have free wireless.

While I understand about business expense accounts, it’s never made sense to me that the higher-end hotels don’t have free wireless, and the moderately-priced ones do.  I’m staying at a Fairfield Inn which is clean and comfortable.  It’s not the Ritz, where I was fortunate enough to stay last time I came to Colorado for work, but it will do just fine. And I’ll never complain about being able to surf the net for free.  After the schedule I’ve had lately, I’m looking forward to later tonight when I’ll be able to catch up on all my favorite blogs!  Do I know how to spend Valentine’s Day, or what?

Adventure Guy was not-so-secretly thrilled sorry I wouldn’t be home to celebrate, but I’m hoping we have a chance to go out for a dinner date this weekend once I get back and the restaurants aren’t so crowded!

7 Comments

Filed under Work

7 responses to “Free Wireless Rocks

  1. You are not alone in your solitude on Valentine’s Day. My husband is out of town and I think he’s also secretly relieved not to have to brave the restaurant crowds tonight. Enjoy your free surfing!

  2. I have a Valentine’s Day policy – I cook one of our favorite meals and then make sure he has reservations for a few nights in the future. Yes, avoid the crowds!

    I am with you on the free wireless! It amazes me how cheap some of the high end hotels can be 🙂 Glad you are going to enjoy some surfing tonight for free!

  3. bunny

    Oh! I get it now. I was wondering “What the heck is a wireless rock?”

    I guess I haven’t had enough coffee yet this morning. It’s only about 8:30am here in Las Vegas. I should be awake by now. My brain and body are still on east coast time, which is 11:30am.

  4. bunny

    And, yes, free wireless does rock. I’m using it right now here at the HGVC (Hilton Grand Vacation Club – timeshare). I had free wireless at the Residence inn in Clientville, but some people I’ve been working with have to pay $10 a day extra for wireless at the “nice” Marriott in Clientville. I’d prefer the Residence Inn over the “nice” Marriott anyway. It feels a little more like home.

  5. Travelling alone is bad enough, but to have to endure an invasion of space and Miss McSlutty, well that’s just inhumane.

    At least you had the wireless freeby.

  6. I went to see Lotus – Scout was/is out of town. I too got to enjoy some free wireless.

  7. Pingback: Wish Me Luck! « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

