The Shooters

shooter1.jpg

Lately, I’ve been indulging in a bit of guilty reading pleasure.  No, it’s not a trashy romance novel; it’s The Shooters, the latest W. E. B. Griffin installment in the Presidential Agent series. 

Adventure Guy introduced me to W. E. B. Griffin back when we were in college.  He was reading the Brotherhood of War series.  I picked up the first book and read non-stop until I caught up with the publishing schedule and had to wait for the next book to come out.  I loved the characters in that series and how the plot continued from book to book.  These books also appealed to the history lover in me since the first was set during World War II.  The ensuing plots then follows the characters as they grow older and move up in rank and on to other conflicts as their careers play out. 

As much as I love the Brotherhood of War series, I was less than enthralled with the other series by Griffin.  He’s written a huge number of books, focusing on the Marine Corps, special ops, policemen.  But finally, we got a tip from a friend that the new Presidential Agent series came pretty close to living up to the Brotherhood of War.  And, even better, it includes characters who went to Texas A & M (hence, the rec from our college friends).  I picked up the first book and once again have caught up to the extent that I have to wait for each new book to come out–a wait made worse this time around since Adventure Guy purchased the book and then taunted me with it until he had finished reading.  And, he wouldn’t even tell me how some of the good parts worked out when I was too tired to keep reading and wanted to know–cruel, I tell you!

The Presidential Agent books are set in a post 9/11 world that closely resembles our own.  There’s a female Secretary of State and a Valerie Plame-like CIA agent. Griffin’s political positions are pretty clear, and they don’t usually line up too closely with my own.  None of that keeps me from enjoying the action or wanting to know more about how things work out in the end for Charlie Castillo, the main character. 

So, pick up By Order of the President, the first in this series, and escape for a while yourself. 

1 Comment

Filed under What I'm Reading

One response to “The Shooters

  1. Wish I had the time. I don’t even have the time to blog, but I steal away to do it in the wee hours when i should be sleeping (or during work when i should be working.) Anyway, I saw The Shooters the movie. Probably wasn’t as good as the book, though. Movies usually never live up to the book.

Leave a Reply

