Can It Really Be Sunday Night Already?

It’s been a nice weekend here in Suburbia, but it’s gone by far, far too fast.  The last two weeks have been unusually hectic, and next week isn’t shaping up to be much different. So, instead of thinking about all I have to do, I’ll tell you about what we did for the last couple of days instead.

The Friday night benefit for our friend was absolutely wonderful.  I haven’t heard the total, but I’m sure several thousand dollars was raised to go toward their uncovered medical expenses.  Gym Girl and I got there about 15 minutes before the event was scheduled to start since she was volunteering as a server, and the line had already formed.  By the end of the evening, over 300 people came through. 

Yesterday I had the chance to sleep in, a luxury I still enjoy.  Then we went to watch Soccer Boy’s basketball game.  He’s getting better and better at it, having just started playing on a team this season.  He scored in yesterday’s game, so he was pretty excited.  After the game, I dropped Dancer Girl off at her Odyssey of the Mind team practice then came home to get ready for the game night get together we were hosting for our Sunday school class.

We are so fortunate to have a wonderful group of friends in our class.  We had six other couples over last night.  Adventure Guy smoked a brisket and some ribs, and he also threw some crawfish on for a boil.  They are just now coming into season and availability here.  We got spoiled living in Houston, where they are much easier to get and lots cheaper.  Other people brought all the sides, drinks, and desserts, so I just had to set things up and enjoy the evening. 

And did I mention that the ladies stomped the men in Trivial Pursuit, avenging the Christmas party loss?  I didn’t want to leave that little detail out.  I think I mentioned before that I’m a little competitive!

This morning, I definitely did not have the luxury of sleeping in since I promised Adventure Guy on Saturday night that I’d get up early to get Gym Girl to church if he’d finish the clean up duties after the party.  Gym Girl needed to be at all three services because her Sunday school class has learned to do The Lord’s Prayer in sign language and was performing today.  They did a great job! 

After church, I got to spend some time just relaxing and doing some reading, and then we ran to the store to pick up Valentine box supplies.  The nice thing about that, though, is that once we had the supplies, Gym Girl and Dancer Girl helped Soccer Boy with his box, and Gym Girl made her own.   They’ve just finished, and both boxes will be extremely worthy of the occasion on Thursday.

Dancer Girl, Gym Girl, and I also snuck away for a couple of hours today and saw 27 Dresses.  As Dancer Girl said on the way out, “Well, it was pretty predictable, but I really liked it.”  I concur, and if you’re looking for a light romantic comedy, albeit a relatively chic-flickish one, it’s worth seeing.  Hey, I could think of worse ways to spend an hour and a half than watching James Marsden!

And now, I’m going to take a few deep breaths and focus on preparing for the week.  Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General

One response to “Can It Really Be Sunday Night Already?

Leave a Reply

