Getting To Know Me Meme

Alto 2 over at Tales from the Testosterone Zone tagged me for this meme, just in time to save me from having to come up with something pithy to post after a late evening at Gym Girl’s meet and an early morning today. 

The short back story:  Gym Girl and I left around 3:00 p.m. yesterday to drive to her meet.  I then proceeded to sit on uncomfortable bleachers until 10:00 p.m. while she vaulted, balanced, flipped, and turned her way to a 3rd place all-around finish.  It wasn’t as strong a performance as the last few meets.  Part of that was her own performance, and part was the way the scoring ran last night.  Participating in a judged sport is often tough.

This morning, I met one of my friends at a “make it and take it” dinner place in town.  We made twelve meals for our friend who is going through chemo.  We’ll make another twelve when the menu changes next month.  Our friend and her family like having the frozen meals because it gives them a bit more control over their schedule than when they have people bring meals over–it keeps things more “normal,” which is an ongoing challenge. 

Once I finished the meal making, I met Soccer Boy and Adventure Guy at home so we could go to Soccer Boy’s basketball game.  He is steadily improving as a player, this being his first season to play.  Their team tied, and he played well, so everyone is happy.

And, now, without further delay…the getting to know me meme.

  1. Spell my name as it sounds: El-Es-Em.
  2. Am I a worrier? Yes.
  3. What’s my favorite CD?I haven’t bought many CDs lately.  Perhaps my favorite is from college Tom Petty’s Full Moon Fever. 
  4. Favorite color(s)? Cobalt blue (no I didn’t just steal this from Alto2; it’s my favorite too).
  5. Does my home have an attic? Yes, and I live in fear that Adventure Guy will decide to clean it out soon.  Said cleaning activity will be very. very. ugly.
  6. Have I ever been to Canada? Yes,  to the Canadian side of Niagara Falls once.
  7. Have I ever gone fishing? Yes.  We go fishing every year when we pick the kids up at camp.  I’ve also been deep sea fishing–not my favorite since I tend to get sea sick.
  8. Have I ever been on a motorcycle? Yes. Adventure Guy owned a motorcycle in college.  One of my favorite memories is riding to the football games and pulling right up to the motorcycle parking in front of the stadium. 
  9. How much money do I have on me right now? I’m terrible about carrying cash, but I have about $15 left from the money I got to take with me to Gym Girl’s meet.
  10. How many cars have I owned? Five.
  11. How many jobs have I had? Eight.
  12. How tall am I? I always say I’m 5’5″, but really it’s more like 5′4.75″
  13. Last person to call me: Soccer Boy.
  14. Last thing I yelled out loud: Get the ball, Soccer Boy!”
  15. Last person I was in a car with: Adventure Guy.
  16. Last time I ate at McDonald’s: Two weeks ago, Wednesday. I recommend the grilled chicken sandwich and the side fruit and walnut salad. 
  17. Last thing I bought: Dinner at Wendy’s for Gym Girl last night.
  18. Last person I saw: Soccer Boy.
  19. Last time I cried: About a month ago at church, when my friend with cancer went down for prayers before beginning chemo again.
  20. Last time I laughed: I can’t remember a specific instance, which is sad because I love to laugh.
  21. What is the temperature outside? 54ºF.
  22. What time of the day did I get married? June 30, 1990 at 7:00 p.m.  I actually consulted the Texas almanac to set the appropriate time when the sun would be low enough to not blind us during an evening ceremony.
  23. What did I do two nights ago? Enjoyed having dinner with my family on an unexpected night off.
  24. Whose birthday is coming up next? Mine!
  25. What time did I go to bed last night? At 1:00 a..m.
  26. What was the first thing I thought this morning? Please tell me I do not really have to get up right now.
  27. What are my plans for this weekend? Attend children’s sporting events, watch basketball, attend employee appreciation banquet, go to church, go to Super Bowl party to make an appearance, do laundry.
  28. Lemonade or iced tea? Iced tea.
  29. What do I dislike at this moment? Feeling like I don’t have enough time to get everything done.
  30. What did I dream about last night? I rarely remember any dreams.
  31. What’s the last TV show I watched? Soccer Boy is watching The Incredibles in my room as I type.
  32. What is my favorite piece of jewelry? My wedding ring.
  33. Am I a dancer? I love to dance but don’t have a lot of chances any more.
  34. Have I ever cut my own hair? Yes, and I have the disastrous pictures from middle school to prove it!
  35. What is my favorite treat? Always chocolate.
  36. How many piercings/tattoos do I have? I have pierced ears, one hole in each ear. No tattoos. I opposed to them on the basis of both pain and aesthetics.
  37. Where’s my favorite place to be? On a beach in the Caribbean.
  38. Is there someone I haven’t seen in a while and miss? I miss my brother and wish I could be closer to him and his wife while they are newly-expecting.
  39. Who was the last text I sent to? A friend from high school.
  40. Do I care what strangers think about me? Yes, I’d like to say no, but it wouldn’t be true.
  41. Last person I talked to on Instant Messenger: My mother.
  42. Last person to make me cry: Adventure Guy.
  43. Who can I tell anything to? Adventure Guy.
  44. What am I doing tomorrow? Going to church and then a Super Bowl party.  Laundry, which is my very own Sunday tradition. 
  45. Do I have alcohol in my home? Yes.
  46. Do I like ketchup? No.
  47. Do I think I will be on a vacation this summer? Adventure Guy and I are planning to do something in June while the kids are at camp, and we’ll likely go to visit his dad over the 4th of July.  Our big vacation is going to be during Spring Break, though.
  48. What color is my master bathroom? Tan, maroon, and forest green.
  49. Do I wear a bikini at the beach? Only if I am out of my home state.  I have, however, run into students even while on my previously referenced favorite place, the Caribbean beach. 
  50. Have I ever been to the Grand Canyon? No.
  51. What is my favorite fruit? Grapefruit, strawberries, tangelos
  52. What did I really want to do today? Sleep and read.
  53. Am I always cold? At this time of year, yes.
  54. Does it annoy me when someone says they’ll call or text, but don’t? Yes.
Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

Leave a Reply

