I Laughed; I Cried. Go See This Movie

Juno is the best film I’ve seen in a long time.  Adventure Guy and I haven’t been on a movie date in forever, which is rare for us.  He is a huge movie buff and prides himself on being up to date in his viewing, and I usually tag along for the ride.  But he’s seen the majority of the “big” films on his own this Christmas movie season.

I am so glad I took him up on the offer to slip away from the fun, festivities, and general kid-focused hoopla last night.  I’d heard a review for Juno and knew I wanted to see it, so I chose that over Charlie Wilson’s War and Atonement, two other films that are definitely on my list. 

Juno is up for a Golden Globe in the categories of best picture, best actress, and best screenplay.  While I don’t see it winning best picture, I agree wholeheartedly with the nominations for best actress and screen play.  Ellen Page, plays the role of Juno, the teenager dealing with an unplanned pregnancy, flawlessly.  It’s a unique role, created by the screenwriter, Diablo Cody.  Juno is strong, offbeat, confident, scared, and vulnerable.  She’s a girl who makes you hope for a fairy-tale ending to her story, even when there’s no glass slipper in sight.

And did I mention this movie is laugh-out-loud funny?  J. K. Simmons and Allison Janney are hilarious as Juno’s dad and step-mother.  They deal with the obviously challenging situation with humor and grace that I could only hope to have if faced with the same issues.  An example is their conversation after Juno tells them she’s pregnant.

Mac MacGuff: Did you see that coming?
Bren: Yeah… but I was hoping she was expelled, or into hard drugs.
Mac MacGuff: Or DWI… anything but this.

There’s also a great line in the hospital when Juno wants an epidural but isn’t dilated enough to get one yet.  I’d quote it, but I can’t remember it verbatim and don’t want to mess it up.  Go see the movie for that as well as for other great performances by Jennifer Garner and Jason Bateman as prospective adoptive parents and Michael Cera as Juno’s boyfriend.

As Juno says about herself, “Yeah, I’m a legend. You know, they call me the cautionary whale.”  I might just use this movie as a cautionary tale for Dancer Girl.  At least it would give me a good excuse to see it again!

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General

2 responses to “I Laughed; I Cried. Go See This Movie

  1. Thanks for the awesome movie review. I try to see always see a few good movies in those last weeks of pregnancy (some doomsday attitude of mine, like my movie-watching life will come to an end). I’ll definitely plan on seeing this one. Just the mention of epidural alone…yummm. 😉

  2. Pingback: Charlie Wilson’s War « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

