Some Say In Ice

SOME say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To know that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice. ~Robert Frost

The phone rang at 4:30 a.m.  In my line of work, this is usually not a bad thing.  I went to bed last night having assured three hopeful children that my money was on a snow day for today.  And, indeed, the early morning call confirmed that school was off.  But there’s no snow.  Instead, there’s a coat of ice that’s snapping power lines and tree limbs alike and has knocked out power to most of the region, including half of our school sites in All-American Public Schools and my own home.

My backyard is a wasteland of splintered trees.  We’ve lost all three of the large trees across my fenceline.  They had just grown into a nice screen for the house next door in the last two years or so.  I am thankful, though, that when one of the errant limbs landed on the neighbor’s roof it didn’t cause any damage.  Of all the ones that fell, it was the smallest.

Technically, I am to report to work on snow days.  With no power this morning, I called the superintendent and told him I wouldn’t be in right away if at all.  I tried to get some sleep, since I’d been up since the first phone call–first calling the principals who report to me and then listening to the sounds of crashing branches.  Once Soccer Boy woke up, I gave up on the sleeping and hung out a bit with him.  Gym Girl joined us and we played Blokus in front of the fire Adventure Guy built.  Eventually, Swim Chick woke up.  The kids and I went out in search of a grocery store with power.  We ended up finding one as well as a craft store where we bought some giftwrapping and craft supplies. 

Those tasks accomplished, I decided it was time to brave making it to the office.  We have power here, so I’m feeding my Internet addiction.  It’s amazing how much you miss it when it’s gone!  The bad news is that the power may be out at my house for days rather than hours.  I’ll try to post from here when I can.

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General

2 responses to “Some Say In Ice

  1. Guh, we had a nasty one a few years back – I thought the branches popping sounded like the fire swamp in the Princess Bride.

    My brother got out early today (jr hi SS teacher) and wished me a great week since he figures his week is done 🙂

  2. bunnybubblette

    It looks nasty out there! They actually showed pictures of your state last night during the Philadelphia weather report on TV.

Leave a Reply

