Perspective

While the weather isn’t any better, and, in fact, it’s a bit worse, I’ve decided it’s time for an attitude adjustment around here.  Because I’m tired of being grumpy.  And, I choose my attitude, and, yeah, all that.

But what hit me hard yesterday was how fortunate I am to have my health and the health of my family and a pretty good life all around.  It all started after I had assumed the official gymnastics-mom position in the bleachers.  Portable seat back?  Check.  32 oz. soft drink?  Check.  Score sheet?  Check.  Reading material for inevitable meet delays?  Check.  And then, one of my friends turned in the stands and said, “I don’t know if you’ve heard, but…”

And that but was that his wife, the mom of Gym Girl’s best friend, was going in for a biopsy.  Another one.  I’ve written about her struggle with cancer before, but she’s been feeling great lately and went in for her latest scan expecting to get an “all clear.”  Instead, she received the news that there were some suspicious lymph nodes that needed to be biopsied…right away. 

I can’t fathom dealing with what their family is going through right now.  They have three girls, Gym Girl’s friend and twins Soccer Boy’s age, and they’ve already been through so much. If the cancer is back so soon after the last round of chemo, I know the prognosis is not good.  And it’s Christmas.  And I’ve been sitting around feeling stressed and unhappy about what I see is literally nothing when I take time to look at the big picture.

So, that’s all over.  I’m counting my blessings, focusing on the positive, and gearing up to be sure that I do whatever I can to help my friends get through this latest challenge.

4 Comments

Filed under Life in General

4 responses to “Perspective

  1. ramblingmom

    I don’t know if you know about this website …

    http://www.lotsahelpinghands.com/

    It’s an amazingly easy way to organize volunteer activities.

  2. You probably know this, but Whymommy over at Toddler Planet has been putting up posts about what she thinks helps people with breast cancer too…

  3. Pingback: Thoughts Across The Miles « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  4. Pingback: The Friday Night Knitting Club « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

