Spent

I am officially spent and by that I mean physically and financially.  On the physical side, I am recovering from my weekend cold.  I felt a lot better overall today, but I can tell by how tired I am that I’m not full speed just yet.  Of course, that could have something to do with the fact that Adventure Guy left this morning for another business trip, leaving me with full kid taxi duties tonight.  I left the house at 7:45 a.m. and returned home at 7:50 p.m.  In between those times I had four meetings, got a bit of actual work done in the office, picked up Dancer Girl, picked up Soccer Boy, dropped off Dancer Girl at ballet, picked up Gym Girl, visited with Best Friend and her family who conveniently live between gym and ballet, picked up Dancer Girl, and made two stops for fast food (I’m a sucker, what can I say?)

During lunch I did manage to accomplish a bit of online shopping in honor of Cyber Monday, which, unlike Black Friday, I am willing to participate in.  I try to spread out my holiday purchases through at least the months of October, November, and December.  I have officially spent all I’m spending this month.  And to show for it, I have

  • American Girl outfits for nieces
  • Gymboree outfit for nephew
  • games and/or books for cousins’ children and best friend’s children
  • cute t-shirts for Dancer Girl and Gym Girl
  • Chi flat iron for Dancer Girl
  • iPod shuffle for Soccer Boy
  • Tom Tom navigation system for Dad
  • Spode gravy boat for Mom
  • giftcard to specialty food store for brother-in-law
  • cool art glass chip and dip sets for sister and sister-in-law
  • books for all my kids and Adventure Guy

My December purchases will be a cell phone for Gym Girl, renewal of the Ceiva subscriptions for both my parents and my father-in-law, and something else for Adventure Guy, the notoriously hard to buy for person.  We’ll also need to pick up a couple more things for each of the kids.  I’m trying not to go overboard this year on number of items and concentrate on buying a few things they really want.  My brother will also need a gift. I’m hoping to get some ideas from him this week.

I am pleased that I’m further along in the shopping than I usually am at this time.  Now I just need to get a photo for the Christmas cards and get all those things wrapped once they arrive!

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

One response to “Spent

  1. Oh to be all done! I haven’t even begun – unless you count all the photos we’re picking up tomorrow for the grandparents….

Leave a Reply

