And So It Begins

As I drove in to work this morning, I couldn’t help but notice the city crews putting out the Christmas decorations.  Yes, it’s All-Saints Day, the day after Halloween…must be time to kick off the holiday season. 

I’m actually a big fan of the Christmas season and all that it brings with it.  I am proud to say that yesterday, along with the trick-or-treaters, two packages from my first round of online Christmas shopping arrived.  That does not mean I want to see Christmas wreaths all over town on November 1; it just means I realize I need to spread the credit-card spending wealth over more than one month!

But I long for the tradition that existed when I was a child of waiting until the day after Thanksgiving to jump full-swing into the Christmas chaos.  I have great memories of hopping into my grandfather’s huge 70s-era Lincoln Continental at dawn on those Fridays to drive to Dallas. 

The holy grail of our Christmas shopping quest was the downtown Neiman Marcus store, which was guaranteed to provide a whirlwind of shopping and fabulous, ornate store decorations.  It was magical for me, just as it was for my mother when she was a child.  Every year, she’d tell us of the trips she remembered, the twinkle of the lights, the excitement of seeing her favorite Dallas icon, the flying red horse. Somehow, lining up at Best Buy at 5:00 a.m. doesn’t quite rival those experiences.

So this year, my pre-New Year’s resolution for the holiday season is to focus on providing my own children with more of the experiences that make memories and less of the experiences that make us crazy.  And I’m not going to be at Best Buy or anywhere other than a cozy bed at 5:00 a.m. on Black Friday.

What I am going to do, though, is participate in this year’s NaBloPoMo.  It sounds easy–just write a post each day for a month.  We’ll see how easy that is in practice.  And so it begins.

4 Comments

Filed under Balance, Life in General

4 responses to “And So It Begins

  1. I know earlier I was seeing Christmas decorations lined up next to the Halloween decorations.

    What ever happened to Thanksgiving? It got kind of lost in the shuffle.

  2. Alto2

    My dad had a car like that, except his was a 4-door version. The first one was brown and second one was white. They were the epitome of success in that era.

  3. Pingback: But I’ve Got Aspirations « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  4. Pingback: A Little Wobbly On That Balance Thing « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

