See What Happens When I Don’t Work?

Yes, it’s a two-post day!  We’ve decided to ditch the football game in favor of staying home and vegging in front of the television.  With the whole fall theme we’ve got going today, I thought it was time to break out two of my favorite fall menu items for dinner:  taco soup and corn bread.

The taco soup is a great recipe for a day when you want something hearty and warm but don’t want to spend much time in the kitchen.  I usually change up the recipe a bit by using Mexican corn and regular petite diced tomatoes instead of tomatoes with chiles.  When I do that, I leave out the stewed tomatoes.  Also, I like to use a heartier beer, preferably one of Adventure Guy’s stock of fall ale that he has around this time of year.

Taco Soup

1 lb. ground beef

1 can pinto beans

1 can green beans

1 can ranch beans

1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles

1 can stewed tomatoes

1 envelope taco seasoning mix

1 envelope Ranch-style dressing mix

12 oz. beer

5 corn tortillas

salt

 

Brown beef in stockpot, stirring until it crumbles and is no longer pink.  Drain.  Rinse and drain pinto beans, corn, and green beans.  Stir rinsed beans and vegetables and remaining ingredients into beef; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer 30 minutes.

Cut tortillas into 1/4-inch strips.  Place on baking sheet; coat with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt.  Bake at 400 degrees for 5 to 8 minutes.  Ladle soup into bowls and top with tortilla strips.

The corn bread recipe is from the church cookbook put out by my hometown church in 1985.  It’s a classic.  Corn bread is one of those things that’s worth making from scratch rather than a mix.  This one takes a bit more effort than some recipes I’ve seen because it calls for sifting the flour.  I usually go ahead and do this, but I’ve made it without sifting too.

Perfect Cornbread

1 c. sifted all-purpose flour

¼ c. sugar

4 tsp. baking powder

¾ tsp. salt

1 c. yellow corn meal

2 eggs

1 c. milk

¼ c. shortening

Sift flour with sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in corn meal.  Add eggs, milk, and shortening.  Beat with rotary or electric mixer until just smooth. (Do not overbeat).  Pour into greased 9×9 pan.  Bake at 425 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “See What Happens When I Don’t Work?

  1. lewis1212

    I wish I could skip the football game tonight. Alas, its homecoming so no such luck. Thanks for the cornbread recipe—-I just bought some cornmeal, so I’ll try it this weekend.
    MLL

  2. Pingback: Single No More « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  3. Pingback: Soup, It’s What’s For Dinner « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  4. Pingback: Maybe I Can Fit In One More Piece Of Pie… « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  5. Pingback: Looking For Warmth « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  6. Pingback: Things I’m Loving In 2010 « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

