Just One of Those Mornings

This morning I managed to leave the house relatively on time to take Soccer Boy to school after first hitting the snooze button one or two too many times.  In my rush, however, I forgot both my employee ID and a shirt I had promised to bring a colleague for tonight’s football game.  In his rush, Soccer Boy forgot his backpack which contained three assignments that were due today. 

While I could have used the forgotten backpack as a lesson in personal responsibility, that rang a bit hollow when considered with my own need to return home.  So, we turned around, drove home, and gathered his backpack and my things.  Just in time for him to catch the school bus that I had previously told him I couldn’t wait for because I needed to get to work.

The saving grace in that is that Adventure Guy was still at home after his own rather late start this morning, and he volunteered to wait the extra few minutes until the bus arrived.  With those few minutes of extra time, I made it to the office at a respectable time. 

At this point, I figure the only way for the day to go is up!  I’ll let you know how that all works out.

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Work

One response to “Just One of Those Mornings

  1. ramblingmom

    At this point, I figure the only way for the day to go is up! I’ll let you know how that all works out.

    Yeah — just let me know if that works for you.

Leave a Reply

