Christmas Ramblings

So, I just created a Pandora station called Barenaked Ladies Holiday.  It should be interesting to see what it pairs with that.  So far, so good.  Sister Hazel, a group I’ve never heard of before is playing “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” as I type. 

I do indeed hope to have a merry little Christmas.  As of last night (or actually a little after midnight this morning), I am officially finished with decorating and gift buying.  Or I like to tell myself that.  In actuality, I have to pick up a few stocking stuffers and buy a gift card for Adventure Guy on behalf of my mother.  But, the Christmas tree is purchased and decorated, and there are wrapped gifts underneath it.  I even took pity on Adventure Guy and wrapped the gifts that he still needs to ship to his father and grandmother. 

Friday brought the official start of winter holidays for the kids, making it even harder for me to get excited about my early wakeup call for work tomorrow.  Fortunately, I only have to get through two more days before I take some vacation time myself.  Our offices at All American Public Schools will be closed Friday and all of the following week, so I will have a lovely, long break in trade for only three days of vacation.  Such a deal!

I plan to use that time very wisely by making some Christmas treats, preparing for our traditional Christmas Eve fondue dinner, and hopefully spending quality time in front of the fireplace with a good book. Speaking of books, I just finished reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close after the previews for the upcoming movie intrigued me.  I think I’ll have to recommend it to my book club so that we can discuss it.  I found it an interesting read…not sure I could classify it as enjoyable, though.  I will definitely see the movie.

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General

One response to “Christmas Ramblings

  1. Pingback: Christmas Eve Ramble « Mike10613's Blog

Leave a Reply

